Multiple "Workspaces"

I use markdown for three unique purposes:

• I am lead of a development team at work and love using inkdrop to take notes there and track my todo list.
  • I am a student and have found that inkdrop really suits my needs for taking notes in class and studying later.
  • I am co-owner of an LLC and use inkdrop for my own notes there as well as other dev projects on the side.

I have an individual notebook with an underlying hierarchy of subnotebooks for each of these use cases, but things like tags and statuses cross over to all notebooks. It would be nice if I could have completely separate “workspaces” so that for example when I am at University I see all the tags and todo items related to my classes, but I don’t see them while I’m trying to run meetings with my team at work.

Is there a way to do this without purchasing a unique subscription to inkdrop for every use case?

I can think of a few approaches:

• Create multiple “workspaces” that contain notebooks, subnotebooks, tags, statuses, etc… and provide a way to switch between them.
  • Allow scoping tags/statuses by the top level notebook that is selected.
  • Allow multiple users to have multiple "accounts’ that share a single subscription and either
    • allow them to switch between accounts from the menu found by clicking on the account name
    • or allow them to switch out by signing out and signing into a different account

I realize this is a large request that would require quite the refactor, but I’m curious to hear thoughts. I can’t be the only one who wants to integrate inkdrop into every part of my life! haha.

1 Like

Hi Parker,

Great to hear that you use Inkdrop for your various project!
Yeah, supporting multiple workspaces would be great for people like you.
As you guess, that’s right, it would however require fundamental changes to the app.
I understand your need, but personally I don’t need more workspaces at the moment.
I use the app everyday as a heavy user.