Is there a keyboard shortcut to bring a note into focus?

I am trying to use Inkdrop from the keyboard as much as possible however I don’t seem to be able to find a keyboard command to bring the note into focus once I have selected it from the note list.

I need to bring the note into focus even though it appears in the note panel because sometimes a note can be longer then the available space in the panel and I would like to scroll through it using the arrow keys.

I am relatively new to Inkdrop so I am not sure if I am missing something. Here is my current workflow:

• CTRL + SHIFT + F : to navigate to the note list

• Type some text into the search field to find my note

• UP/DOWN arrow keys to navigate through the note list

• Then to put the note into focus one of two methods:

1. TAB multiple times to get to note panel so I can scroll using arrow keys

2. CTRL + E and then CTRL + E again (going to edit mode and then preview again brings note into focus)

I currently mostly use method (2) and sometimes (1) if I want to edit some of the note metadata. I was hoping that there might be a single keyboard shortcut to bring the currently selected note into focus. It’s not a huge issue but it would make quickly referencing notes a little bit quicker. Am I missing something or is this functionality not present?

Thanks

1 Like

Hi Ryan,

Thank you for the question.
At the step 4, you can type just Enter key in the search text box to jump focus to the editor.
Hope that helps.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response. I just tried that and it does bring me to the note but it also goes into editor mode. I would like for it to stay in preview mode as most of the the time I am using my notes for reference and not editing.

I’m afraid that it’s not currently supported.
You have to create a plugin to make that possible.
You can define a keymap that gives the focus on .mde-preview element.