Inkdrop Price Change

Hey Inkdroppers,

I’m writing to let you know that, effective February 5th, I will be increasing the price of Inkdrop from $4.9/month ($49.9/year) to $9.98/month ($99.8/year).
This will be the first price change in 7 years.
Let me explain why I’m making this change.

TL;DR

I don’t want to chase numbers but I do want to follow my heart and create what I want to use, read, and watch.
This approach works best with a smaller scale of supporters, not with tens of thousands of paying customers.
So, my project, Inkdrop, needed to make the pricing right.

I want to make Inkdrop better rather than bigger.

I am a non-VC-backed solo developer, focusing on making what I really want to use.
Inkdrop is mainly for those who are similar to me.

Maintaining a smaller scale allows me to keep focusing on what really matters.
I’d prefer to have a few thousand customers who really like my app rather than >10k broader customers.
Instead of spending my energy and money to pursue more and more users, I’d like to make the existing happy customers even happier by focusing on a specific niche, keeping things simple and clean.

I believe Inkdrop improves your productivity worth more than $10.

Thanks to your ongoing support, Inkdrop has continually improved since 2016.
Last year, I released a new version of the mobile app, completely rebuilt from scratch. It got a significant performance improvement and a sophisticated UI with multiple theme support.
Additionally, the desktop version now launches nearly 2x faster than before with a bunch of other improvements.
(Please check out the 2023 recap if you haven’t yet)

I think it’s time to update the pricing to reflect Inkdrop’s current value.
While I understand that financial situations vary, I prefer to keep the pricing straightforward to avoid frequent changes.